Quick and Puckery Salsa Verde

“If we starve, we starve together.”

~MFK Fisher, The Gastronomical Me

I recently spent nearly a week laid up on the couch with a pain just under my breastbone that could be best described as an aching emptiness roasting over an open fire. The only foods that soothed it were the blandest ones: oatmeal with brown sugar, saltine crackers, white rice, roasted chicken. Even though the food I could eat was completely unappetizing, I ate constantly, trying to snuff out that fire in my belly.

And then it was gone.

maesri-pickled-lemon-154881
I actually prefer these Asian pickled lemons to Middle Eastern preserved ones, but ymmv.

And I could eat again. And cook again! To celebrate, I made dinner for my partner and me for the first time since New Year’s Day. In my head, it sounded perfect–seared cod over braised lentils with salsa verde (inspired by this recipe from Goopie herself, Gwyneth Paltrow. She may be insufferable, but her recipes are on point.) But the cod shrank down so pathetically I gave it all to my partner and ate tofu instead and the lentils were so old they sucked up all the broth and never seemed to get properly cooked. What saved it all was the salsa verde. Rich, unctuous, lemony, delicious.

 

Puckery Salsa Verde

  • 1/2 C of herbs, like parsley and/or cilantro, finely minced. (I only had cilantro.)
  • 1 pickled lemon very finely minced (I use pickled lemons from an Asian market, but you could substitute preserved lemons as well)
  • 1 lemon zested
  • 1/2 lemon squeezed
  • a couple glugs of extra virgin olive oil
  • big spoonful of dijon mustard

Mix this together until the juice and oil emulsify. Spoon over fish, tofu, whatever your heart fancies. You will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

